Public Holidays (Singapore)

Entitlement to Public Holidays for employees in Singapore

Nicholas avatar
Written by Nicholas
Updated over a week ago

Employees covered by the Employment Act are entitled to 11 paid (gross rate of pay) public holidays in a year.

Public holidays (PH):

  1. New Year's Day

  2. Chinese New Year - 1st day

  3. Chinese New Year - 2nd day

  4. Hari Raya Puasa

  5. Hari Raya Haji

  6. Good Friday

  7. Labour Day

  8. Vesak Day

  9. National Day

  10. Deepavali

  11. Christmas Day


Public holiday is a paid working day for all employees. Holiday pay is not entitled if the employee is:

  • absent on the working day before or after the holiday without consent or reasonable excuse.

  • on approved unpaid leave.

Work on a Public Holiday:

An employee must be paid, or by mutual agreement receive a PH in lieu.


Did this answer your question?