Hi. How can we help?
Popular topics: Setting up Profiles, Processing Payroll, Setup for Leave app...

Public Holiday Entitlement

Employees covered by the Employment Act are entitled to 11 paid (gross rate of pay) public holidays in a year. 

Public holidays (PH):

  1. New Year's Day
  2. Chinese New Year - 1st day
  3. Chinese New Year - 2nd day
  4. Hari Raya Puasa
  5. Hari Raya Haji
  6. Good Friday
  7. Labour Day
  8. Vesak Day
  9. National Day
  10. Deepavali
  11. Christmas Day

If the PH falls on a The employer must
A rest day Treat the next working day as a paid holiday
A non-working day Compensate an extra day's pay or provide a replacement day off as a holiday

Holiday pay is not entitled if the employee is:

  • absent on the working day before or after the holiday without consent or reasonable excuse.
  • on approved unpaid leave.

Work on a Public Holiday:

An employee must be paid, or by mutual agreement receive a PH in lieu.

If the PH falls on

The employer must compensate

A working day

  • An extra day’s salary at the basic rate of pay.
  • The gross rate of pay for that holiday.
  • Overtime pay for work beyond normal working hours.

A rest day

  • For work done on a Rest Day.
  • Overtime pay for work beyond normal working hours.

The next working day will be a paid holiday instead.

A non-working day

  • Overtime pay for extra hours worked.
  • One extra day’s pay or another day off.

Have more questions? Submit a request


Please sign in to leave a comment.